Up Getting started


Last modified on November 08, 2017 12:52

DevForce is the seventh-generation release of the n-tier data architecture begun with "DevForce Classic" in the early 2000s.

DevForce Products

DevForce Classic - For legacy .NET 2.0 applications.  

DevForce 2010 - For legacy .NET 4.0 applications using EF 4.  

DevForce - For .NET 4.5 and above applications using EF 5 or 6.  DevForce was previously called "DevForce 2012".

What's new?

The latest generation of DevForce supports:

  • .NET 4.5+ and Silverlight 5
  • Easy asynchronous programming with async/await
  • Entity Framework 5 and 6
  • Windows 8 / WinRT, Windows Phone 8, Windows Universal
  • NuGet installation

See the Release Notes for up-to-date information on features.


DevForce will install binaries, tools, templates, and other artifacts on your development machine. Read Installing DevForce to learn about installation prerequisites and the DevForce NuGet installation process.

Migrating from DevForce 2010

DevForce (formerly "DevForce 2012") is an evolutionary change over DevForce 2010. It's built upon support for .NET 4.5, Entity Framework 5, Silverlight 5, Windows Store apps, and the new async/await pattern.

In addition to requiring Visual Studio 2012 or above, there are a few breaking changes between these products. We recommend you read Migrating from DevForce 2010 before making the jump.

Using the DevForce compatibility pack

Use the DevForce Compatibility Pack to ease the migration of existing DevForce 2010 projects using the "operation/callback" asynchronous API.

Getting started

Ready to get started? Let's watch a few videos, explore a few code samples, start writing some code.

Created by DevForce on September 24, 2012 12:59

This wiki is licensed under a Creative Commons 2.0 license. XWiki Enterprise 3.2 - Documentation. Copyright © 2020 IdeaBlade